Save £60pp on all July and August holidays with a myJet2 account! T&Cs apply.

Sign in now

UK Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA)

As part of the UK Government’s drive to transform and digitise the UK border, nationals of selected countries are now required to apply online for an ETA before travelling to the UK.  

 If you fall into any of the following categories, the UK ETA doesn’t apply to you, and you can travel to the UK as normal:  

You hold a UK or Irish passport  

You have permission to live, work, or study in the UK  

You need a visa to enter the UK - please follow the existing process to apply for your visa  

If you don’t fall into any of the above categories, please read on to find out how ETA affects you.  

What is an ETA?

ETAs are applicable to non-British / Irish passport holders who don’t require a visa to enter the UK and are replacing the Electronic Visa Waivers (EVW) for many countries. An ETA will allow you unlimited visits to the UK over a two-year period, or until your passport expires, whichever is sooner. More information about the ETA can be found here.

Who needs an ETA?

If you’re a national of any of the following countries, you now need an ETA to travel to the UK:






Saudi Arabia

United Arab Emirates

Please note that failure to present a valid ETA may result in you being unable to enter the UK. If you’re a national of any other country, you don’t currently need an ETA to travel to the UK. However, the ETA scheme is being rolled out to many more nationalities over the coming months, so it is important to check the latest requirements prior to travel.

How do I apply for an ETA?

The easiest way to apply for an ETA is through the dedicated UK ETA app. More information about obtaining an ETA can be found here.

How much does an ETA cost?

It costs £10 per applicant to apply for an ETA and everyone travelling needs to do so, including children and infants.

Explore some of our great destinations...

See all destinations
Back to top